Jehovahs Witnesses Online - Censorship Free Discussion Board

Worldwide meeting place for discussion of Jehovahs Witness Issues
It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 10:47 am

»

All times are UTC [ DST ]

AuthorMessage
 Post subject: Studying to be a JW
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 6:36 am 
Hello, I'm Jordi. I've been studying to become a JW for two years now. I also have a college dergee in English, which helps me analyze texts, write papers, and do research, as it is a requirement to do so in order to get your English degree. So I've run into some problems while doing research about the NWT, the bible that JW use. i'd like to speak to a JW about translation issues, but I'm afraid to speak to the elders because I don't want to be labeled an apostate. I also don't want to stumble anyone, because its my journey that I have to make in order to find out what is the real truth about the bible. I hope to speak to someone who is not afraid to talk openly and candidly. I'd prefer not to speak to an apostate or ex-Jw, because they seem so bitter here that I can't rely on them to give an unbiased review of the questions that I pose. So really I'm looking for an unbiased opinion on the NWT. Wiki has a fairly balanced view of the NWT, and I was suprised that some scholars support the NWT. However, my question is simple. if the original committee that developed the NWT had no credentials to translate the NWT from Aramaic, Greek, and Hebrew, how can we be sure that it was done so accurately?? If you say it was by holy spirit, that could be the case. however, If anyone else used that arguement about their bibles (the mormons for example) it would be rejected. So how can we justify what we know about the NWT versus, what we believe.

Post subject: Re: Studying to be a JW
PostPosted: Sat May 10, 2014 3:27 pm 
Hello Jordi,